Skip to content ↓


Head of Department: Mr Karl Downing

Members of staff: Mr Andrew Clarke, Mr Mike Davis, Dr Alison Drasdo, Mrs M McMullan and Miss Louise Robinson (Technician)

In the Chemistry department we aim to encourage interest and enjoyment in Chemistry and to allow students to develop a knowledge and understanding of chemical concepts and processes appropriate to their level of study and suited to their individual abilities.

We try to ensure that all students become equipped with an understanding and knowledge of the applications of Chemistry, enabling them to become confident citizens and to participate fully in the modern technological society. Further, we wish to give those who are particularly interested or talented the best possible start to a career in the world of Chemistry.

The department is situated on the first floor of the Brook Street block in rooms 20, 26 and 28.

Students studying Chemistry at any level are encouraged to seek advice and help with work from any member of the department during any lunchtime or immediately after school. 

Where Next